top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Nicole

Story of HeART

HeART is a new program, facilitated HeartWood Center for Community Youth Development.

It is a weekly group for youth aged 12-17yrs who have an interest in art, in one of the many forms it comes in: from painting, sewing, writing, screen printing. This program embodies resilience based strategies for youth to cope with lifes stresses and who may want to learn more about stress management skills


I haven't really spoke a lot about where HeART came from. Where my motivation to create a youth program from the group up, launch it in January, and honestly create a program while trying to finish an undergrad degree and all of the other commitments I have.

HeART has been an legit program for four weeks now, with participants, a grant, and volunteers. As I stumble along this process, I think its important to understand why. As they why is what is driving me to keep going, writing grants, reaching out to community partners, and make the time in my already busy schedule.

This program is similar but different to the program that helped save my existence. I know art is therapeutic, I am living proof of that. I also know early intervention is key. The younger we can introduce the therapeutic side and other skills the better off youth are.

My dream ever since I was young was to become an art teacher. To help others create beautiful master pieces. Well turns out being an art teacher is pretty darn close to impossible right now in Nova Scotia. Also from hearing of the struggles of local teachers as well as the constant cuts to Arts funding in schools. It did not seem like the right time for this career path.

So my dream morphed into an Art therapist. I could use art to help children and youth with mental health. Like my original dream but slightly different. Seemed a bit more probable in my head, in the beginning any way. This led to an undergrad in psychology that seemed to much like book work and paper writing, where everything was theories and far from reality. Speaking with other art therapist I learned it was harder to get a job as one of them than a teacher. Quickly that dream became crushed as well.

Finally, a Bachelor of Science in Therapeutic Recreation is where I landed education wise. It had the qualities of art therapy, I could use some of my psychology background for good, I could still work with children and youth who struggled with mental health, so it seemed like the best path. And that’s where I ended up. I spent a whole year understanding the basics how to spell leisure, and all the different ways it can be defined.


Oddly enough that summer I began working for a youth community development agency; HeartWood Center for Community Youth Development. A desk job, my very first summer not working at a camp. A type of job that I originally swore up and down I would never take as I would never fully be that type of adult. But I accepted the job and was quite nervous. Weeks leading up to my start date I found myself looking at other job postings, mostly summer camps, and I was doubting my decision. But I stuck it out and promised myself I could throw in the towel at any moment; if the job was not right for me there was no shame in moving on.


Well that job lasted the whole summer, a summer where I learned and grew. A summer where I had a new perspective for myself and the work that I was already doing. I began to learn the program design, youth engagement, and community partnerships. All things I took for granted originally as a facilitator who was used to simple showing up the day before and pulling the event off. Finishing it by handing over the flip charts and walking away from the project. Suddenly I was involved in all parts of a project, projects became my babies, something I was protective of. Something I cared deeply seeing through to the end.


At the end of my summer contract, after my full eleven weeks I was not ready to leave. I wanted to stay with HeartWood, I felt I had so much more to learn about the work, still so much more to offer. I was not ready for this chapter to close. I was off work for two days before my boss called and offered me a new part time position. I could continue the work two days a week, some weekends, allowing me to go to school. I was very happy, so happy and the contract has been continuing since then.


Okay I know your wondering how all connects to the founding of HeART. This has been a long way of getting there I know, but don’t worry I’m almost there.


The great thing about HeartWood is that it allows everyone to take on their own independent projects, to put your heart into where your passion is. From the beginning of my time I knew I wanted to run a weekly youth program, working with young people on a weekly basis is what keeps me going through out the week. It makes the greys and blacks of university and other stressors seem more blue and purple. I also know I have a passion for youth mental health, speaking out often about life promotion and youth suicide prevention. And finally, I also know I care deeply about art. Art has been a therapeutic tool for me for many years of my life and honestly, I need more reasons to justify doing more of it.


All these things swirling around in my head eventually after months of thinking, rethinking, and talking myself out of, and back into, became a program. On a whim I applied for a grant something I have never done before and a very intimidating process I might add. Then after months and months of waiting and not being sure what January would look like, would my contract be extended or not, would I really be taking five classes. In the middle of December, a snow day, I got the phone call I was waiting for. I had secured the grant to run the program for a season, but the kicker it had to start in January and all the money had to be spent in April.


Then Ta-Da HeART was founded, even though it didn’t have a name yet. And the rest has been the stumbling journey I have been on, Learning, creating, exploring, making it work the best way I know how. Each week meeting more and more new youth and getting to know my regulars better. Like I said it’s a stumbling journey, one that I’m not sure where it will end yet or when it will, part of me hopes it never well. But that is how HeART was born. A dream that changed shapes many times, applied for on a whim, waited and waited and waited for a funding, then quickly came to life.



HeART, art with a purpose.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page