top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Nicole

March: Upside Down Time

Do you remember in elementary school where your teacher would ask did the month of March come in like a lamb or a lion? Based on the answers of the class there would then be a craft to be made. Turing a paper plate into a lamb by gluing down cotton balls, or a paper bag into a lion using construction paper. Then the end of the month would come, and the question would be asked again. Did March go out like a lamb or lion? Well.. whats the answer when March went out with a global pandemic somehow a lion just doesn't seem to cut it. But lets back it up before we jump to the doomed ending we all know closed out March. The beginning of March for me was quite an exciting time. As my schedule began filling up quickly with meetings, events, and travel. On top of my typical school course, I was also beginning the lead-up and learning to my international field course schedule for May in Taiwan. The opportunity to learn alongside professionals in another country on best practices to engage and work with children with varying abilities. Twelve students were chosen to go and we began forming our team. Getting to know each other, sharing our dreams and excitements about the trip. Mine was the excitement to be immersed and learn in a new culture, and my biggest fear was being taken out by a tropical fruit (thanks allergies). I also was working with a total dream team of classmates in my research methods class. Exploring indigenous leisure, creating and designing a research project (that some professional really should do), and for the first time receiving two 100% grades in a row. The rainbow unicorn of university grades, a thing we all know could happen but have never actually seen with our own eyes. In my work life, I was gearing up to run my first March Break camp. I have worked and planned many camps in my twenty-four years of life (thanks to Guides and Scouts), but have never been paid to do so. This was a year in the making, over a month of community engagement and registration. Budgeting and planning, staff and volunteer recruitment. It was shaping up to be an amazing camp, full of youth who were passionate about their art and ready to take on the practice of mindfulness. I was also watching the groups of youth who have been coming together for HeART since October form as a group. I was watching the silly, goofy, and sassy personalities come out, from youth who barely spoke before. They have formed those solid connections I had hoped for. They also began pushing their boundaries and taking ownership of the program and space. Some even shared that our group has become their people, a place where they feel belonging. The second week of March had begun traveling to Toronto for a work conference focused on youth mental health. One filled with networking and putting myself and my work out there on a national stage. It was also the beginning of the dominos falling... Then everything began happening in fast forward mode. Youth began pulling out of the March Break camp faster than I could replace them with youth on our wait list. The Taiwan field course was canceled via email. In the middle of all this, I also took the youth to the museum to explore the Egypt exhibition, and they ended up playing museum-wide hide and go seek (youth-led programming at its finest) On Thursday, a scouting meeting was called to discuss the jamboree trip to Ontario this summer. Parent's questions were answered but in reality, our hands are tied at this point. As we just don't know. On the Friday of the second week, we canceled the March Break camp and suspended all youth programming. The same Friday, Dalhousie also suspend all in-person classes. On Saturday, Scouts Canada suspended all in-person meetings, camps, rallies, anything that involved seeing another human face to face until mid-April. March 15th began my social distancing, more isolation at the core. As the virus and my asthma became a scary combination in my brain. I also started a new family legacy challenge of the sims, because what else was there to do.


March 16

Marked the shift for my whole workplace transition to working from home. A second reading break happened as everyone took the week off classes to allow the switch to distance learning. I also emailed out some home scouting ideas to all my Beaver families. March 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, All came and went. Each day looked the same as the last. I wrote an online examination and term paper in here somewhere. March 23 I baked cookies for the first time in forever. March 24 Sent the Beavers their first at home meeting, to work on their kindness rocks badge. Which involved them talking about how to be kind at home, performing a random act of kindness for someone in their family, and painting rainbows in their windows. March 25 I tried my hand at making homemade Pizza. My Sims also became Grandparents.

March 27

Broke out the paints and attempted to follow a galaxy painting tutorial. I remembered why I didn't go to art school and why I don't enjoy being told what to do. So I went rogue and made my own galaxy. Also baked some citrus muffins.


March 28 Finished the book I have been trying to read since January. It was a wild ending. I also completed another group project via Facebook messenger and google slides. March 29 Stayed up until 2 am and read another book in the bath. Lilo (the kitten) discovered bubbles for the first time. It was adorable. March 30 Hand wrote 27 letters to the Beavers, to send out along with the last of their badges they earned this winter. Also accidentally made 5 dozen peanut butter cookies, because recipes lie. And come to the realization I wish I owned a hand mixer. I had my first doctor's phone appointment, it was weird.


March 31 The Beavers got their second at home meeting, helping at home badge. To motivate them to learn how to do different chores around the house. Overwhelmed but brought joy to the post office workers, the first one had never rung up 27 envelopes at once. The second one swept in to save the day and sold me stamps by the booked, and told me she was excited for something to do. My Sims became great grandparents and died.. it's okay the rest of their linage lives on.

And that was March... came in like a lamb, went out like a (insert more epic animal than a lion).


Tomorrow is more the same as the day before, but could change in a moments notice.

For me, its time to read more books, bake and cook new things, shop online a little too much, connect via zoom, and turn one of Sims into a celebrity. While I stay safe in my home filled with snacks and my loving cats.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page