top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Nicole

Why Start a Blog Now? Isn't Blogging Dead?

Well you know what blogging may not be as popular as it once was, but it must be better than me writing extremely log Facebook and Instagram posts.


Okay, lets back it up for a moment and allow me to properly introduce myself. I’m Kayla, a university student has spent way too long working on one degree. 3 years of psychology + 2 years of therapeutic recreation, will eventually equal a degree Bachelor of Science in Therapeutic Recreation.


I identify as an urban indigenous woman, I spent the majority of my first 12 years of life growing up on a Mi’kmaq reservation. Some prefer the word community, and maybe that’s what is for some people back home. But my memories are not really community feeling. Then I moved and grew up in city and that’s where I currently reside.


My days are spent on university, working part time as a community development intern at a youth community development agency (trying to say that 3 times fast), and a volunteer within the Co-Ed Scouting movement. Watching Tv, curled up in a fuzzy blanket with Pepsi max surround by my two cats, I honestly watch and follow two many shows to pick a favourite. My priorities are not in that order as honestly if I could spend everyday napping with my cats I would.


I am a lover of the arts and partake in a lot of different forms. I really love water colour painting, mixed media painting (I like to put tape on things, paint over the tape, add more tape, paint over that tape, repeat that process until I think it done then peel off all the paint and Ta-Da a master piece). I also enjoy singing, my cats enjoy that less. If I try to sing any Disney song my cat bites my face to make it stop. I also can sew, but mostly stick to simply sewing badges on a blanket or buttons back on my scout shirt.


A Paint Tape Masterpiece

Growing up I participated in the Girl Guides movement, I can thank them for all the camp songs that loop around in my brain, my love and addiction for badges, my sewing skills, and interesting ways to cook things outdoors. As well as my leadership skills and the love for program planning.


A couple of years ago I switched over to the co-ed Scouting movement. Now I can be found chasing around tiny humans and inspiring the youngest members of scouting to be leaders. My beavers, they will probably pop up in blog post or 3 as I share our meeting plans. Since switching over I have been able to travel international and now have scouting friends all over the world.


All of that above is why I wanted to start a blog. Basically, I do a lot of things, and the above doesn’t even sum it up honestly, as I do activism work as well, servant leadership, youth facilitator, sometimes attempt to be a chef, travel, mental health advocate and so much more! This blog is for me to document all the stuff I do and share it with others. Plus, pretty sure a current grant and that scouting trip require me to have a blog... that I said I would start... so Ta-Da!! A blog.


And BAM, I can now say I’m a blogger.


Blogger Kayla


Welcome to Cat Tails and Paint Pots.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page